Phoenix Office:
One E. Washington St.
Suite 1600
Phoenix, AZ 85004-2553
Wickenburg Office:
579 West Wickenburg Way
Suite 4
Wickenburg, AZ 85390
Tucson Office:
One S. Church Ave.
Suite 1900
Tucson, AZ 85701-1627
Send To Printer
Close Window 
Scott A. Malm
Scott A. Malm
Download vCard

Title Insurance and Escrow
Real Estate Litigation
Commercial Disputes
Alternative Dispute Resolution

Martindale  Best Lawyers
Scott A. Malm
Scott Malm concentrates his practice on litigation and dispute resolution for businesses and individuals. He primarily advises and represents title insurance companies and their insureds, escrow agents, lenders, developers, brokers, contractors and similar clients in trial and appellate courts at the state and federal level.

Scott is recognized in Real Estate Law by Best Lawyers® in America, is rated AV Preeminent by Martindale-Hubbell, representing the highest rating in legal ability and ethical standards, and has been recognized in the Southwest Super Lawyers® list for Real Estate Law.

Scott has handled numerous mediations as a Judge Pro Tem for Maricopa County Superior Courts. He is also available as a mediator and arbitrator for real estate, title, escrow, and business disputes.

University of Arizona (J.D., cum laude, 1997; B.A., cum laude, Honors Program 1991)
University of Wales, Cardiff Business School (M.B.A., 1993, Rotary International Scholar)

Arizona (1997); U.S. District Court, Arizona (1997); and Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals (1998)

State Bar of Arizona (member, 1997-current; Real Estate Law Advisory Commission, 2005-2008)
Judge Pro Tempore, Maricopa County Superior Courts (2005-current)

Pac. W. Bank v. Castleton, 246 Ariz. 108 (App. 2018) (judgment liens and homestead)
Deutsche Bank Nat'l Tr. Co. v. Pheasant Grove LLC, 245 Ariz. 325 (App. 2018) (deed reformation)
Markham Contracting Co., Inc. v. FDIC, 240 Ariz. 361 (App. 2016) (equitable subrogation)
Lewis v. Debord, 238 Ariz. 28 (2015) (recorded judgment lien)
Manicom v. CitiMortgage, Inc., 236 Ariz. 153 (App. 2014) (lien priority)
Weitz Co LLC v. Heth, 235 Ariz. 405 (Ariz. 2014) (equitable subrogation)
Brimet II, LLC v. Destiny Homes Marketing, LLC, 231 Ariz. 457 (App. 2013) (equitable subrogation)
Wang Elec. v. Smoke Tree, 230 Ariz. 314 (App. 2012) (unjust enrichment)
Sourcecorp v. Norcutt, 229 Ariz. 270 (2012) (equitable subrogation)
In re Vasquez, 228 Ariz. 357 (2011) (trustee’s sale procedures)
Cont. Light. & Contr., Inc. v. Premier, et al., 227 Ariz. 382 (App. 2011) (equitable subrogation)
Cypress on Sunland HOA, et al. v. Orlandini II, 227 Ariz. 288 (App. 2011) (HOA liens)
In re Mortgages Ltd., 444 B.R. 585 (Bktcy.D.Ariz. 2011) (equitable subrogation)
Birdsell v. Bella Funding, 430 B.R. 544 (Bktcy.D.Ariz. 2010) (deed of trust validity)
In re Estate of Parker, 217 Ariz. 563 (App. 2008) (real estate succession affidavit)
Maxfield v. Martin, 217 Ariz. 312 (App. 2007) (identity theft/escrow liability)
Bunyard v. U.S. Dept. of Ag., 301 F. Supp.2d 1052 (D. Ariz. 2004) (adverse possession)
Speros v. Yu, 207 Ariz. 153 (App. 2004) (rights of way abandonment)
Mealey v. Arndt, 206 Ariz. 218 (App. 2003) (boundary by acquiescence)

Land Title Assoc. of Arizona and Arizona State Escrow Assoc. Conferences (2008-present)
National Business Inst.: Boundary Law and Real Estate Titles (2002-present)
National CLE Conference, Law Education Institute: Title Insurance (2007, 2009)
Author, Arizona Journal of Real Estate and Business : "Abstractor Liability" (2004)
Arizona Trustee Association: Equitable Subrogation (2002, 2012)

Youth Sports Head Coach, including multiple Coach of the Year awards (2007-present)
Gilbert Christian Schools (former president and board member, 2009-2014)
Featured "Innovator" in the Phoenix Business Journal (August 2009)
Electronic Recording Commission (appointed by Governor, 2006-2007)
Arizona Town Hall (report chairman, panel chairman, panel recorder, 2000-2009)
Chandler-Horizon Rotary Club (former president and board member, 1998-2008)
Actors Theatre of Phoenix (former executive committee and board member, 1998-2001)

The Best Lawyers in America® (Real Estate Law ) 2020-2022